Design in Planning Education

I remember reading the essay “Planning Education: Striking a Better Balance” last year when it was first published, but Planetizen recently referenced it, which caused me to re-read it. If you haven’t read it, please do. It hits many points that I agree with.

My education at U of M for my Master of Urban Planning was very thorough. We had (and they still have) fantastic faculty and I still reference much of my class work. However, the biggest missing element for myself was design. U of M had recently begun a full Master of Urban Design program, so if people really wanted to focus on that, they could take many classes. The MUP program did have at least one physical planning elective class, taught on weekends (I think) by an adjunct faculty member, but I didn’t have the time to take it.

I see that Douglas Kelbaugh is the 2nd signatory on the essay – he was Dean when I was at U of M. Hopefully he’s pushing for more design focus in the core of the MUP program.

Leave a Reply

